Uruguay Facts and History

Discover the wonders of Uruguay!

Flag of Uruguay
National Flag of Uruguay

Interesting facts about Uruguay

  • Official Name: República Oriental del Uruguay (Oriental Republic of Uruguay)
  • Form of Government: republic with two legislative houses (Senate [311]; House of Representatives [99])
  • President: Luis Lacalle Pou
  • Prime Minister: N/A
  • GDP: 56.05 billion USD (2019)
  • Capital: Montevideo
  • Population: 3.462 million (2019)
  • Official Languages: Spanish
  • Currency: Peso Uruguayo
  • Timezone: GMT+3
  • Area: 176,215 km²
  • Dialing Code: +598
  • Major Mountain Ranges: Cerro Catedral
  • Major Rivers: Río Negro,Yí River,Chamangá River
  • Continent: South America
  • Border Countries: It is bordered to the west by Argentina, on the north and northeast by Brazil, and on the southeast by the Atlantic Ocean, which makes up Uruguay’s coast. To the south, it fronts the Río de la Plata, a broad estuary that opens out into the South Atlantic.

Map of Uruguay

National Symbols of Uruguay

  • National Bird: southern lapwing
  • National Anthem: “Orientales, la Patria o la Tumba”
  • National Animal: southern lapwing
  • National Flower: Erythrina crista-galli
  • National Poet: Juan Zorrilla de San Martín
  • National Game: Football