United Republic of Tanzania Facts and History

Discover the wonders of United Republic of Tanzania!

Flag of Tanzania
National Flag of United Republic of Tanzania

Interesting facts about United Republic of Tanzania

  • Official Name: Jamhuri ya Muungano wa Tanzania (Swahili); United Republic of Tanzania (English)
  • Form of Government: unitary multiparty republic with one legislative house (National Assembly [3931])
  • President: Samia Suluhu Hassan
  • Prime Minister: N/A
  • GDP: 63.18 billion USD (2019)
  • Capital: Dodoma
  • Population: 58.01 million (2019)
  • Official Languages: Swahili
  • Currency: Tanzanian shilling
  • Timezone: GMT+3
  • Area: 945,087 km²
  • Dialing Code: +255
  • Major Mountain Ranges: Albertine Rift,Mahale Mountains,Mbeya Range
  • Major Rivers: Nile, River Congo, River Rufiji, and River Ruvuma.
  • Continent: Africa
  • Border Countries: The United Republic of Tanzania is an East African country bordering the Indian Ocean. Its neighbours are Kenya and Uganda, to the north, Rwanda, Burundi and Democratic Republic of the Congo, to the west, and Zambia, Malawi and Mozambique to the south.

Map of United Republic of Tanzania

National Symbols of United Republic of Tanzania

  • National Bird: Grey Crowned crane
  • National Anthem: “Mungu ibariki Afrika”
  • National Animal: Masai giraffe
  • National Flower: Syzygium aromaticum evergreen tree
  • National Poet: Shaaban bin Robert
  • National Game: Football