Turkey Facts and History

Discover the wonders of Turkey!

Flag of Turkey
National Flag of Turkey

Interesting facts about Turkey

  • Official Name: Türkiye Cumhuriyeti (Republic of Turkey)
  • Form of Government: multiparty republic with one legislative house (Grand National Assembly of Turkey [6001])
  • President: Recep Tayyip Erdoğan
  • Prime Minister: N/A
  • GDP: 761.4 billion USD (2019)
  • Capital: Ankara
  • Population: 82 million (2019)
  • Official Languages: Turkish
  • Currency: Turkish lira
  • Timezone: GMT+3
  • Area: 783,562 km²
  • Dialing Code: +90
  • Major Mountain Ranges: Erciyes (Mount Erciyes),Küçük Ağrı,Kızılkaya
  • Major Rivers: Euphrates,Tigris,Sakrya River,Chorokhi
  • Continent: Middle East
  • Border Countries: Turkey is bounded on the north by the Black Sea, on the northeast by Georgia and Armenia, on the east by Azerbaijan and Iran, on the southeast by Iraq and Syria, on the southwest and west by the Mediterranean Sea and the Aegean Sea, and on the northwest by Greece and Bulgaria.

Map of Turkey

National Symbols of Turkey

  • National Bird: redwing
  • National Anthem: “Istiklal Marsi”
  • National Animal: Gray wolf
  • National Flower: Tulips
  • National Poet: Mehmet Akif Ersoy
  • National Game: grease wrestling