Spain Facts and History

Discover the wonders of Spain!

Flag of Spain
National Flag of Spain

Interesting facts about Spain

  • Official Name: Reino de España (Kingdom of Spain)
  • Form of Government: constitutional monarchy with two legislative houses (Senate [2661]; Congress of Deputies [350])
  • President: Felipe VI
  • Prime Minister: Pedro Sánchez
  • GDP: 1.393 trillion USD (2019)
  • Capital: Madrid
  • Population: 46.94 million (2019)
  • Official Languages: Spanish
  • Currency: Euro
  • Timezone: GMT+2
  • Area: 505,990 km²
  • Dialing Code: +34
  • Major Mountain Ranges: Teide,Mulhacén,Pico Aneto,Veleta
  • Major Rivers: River Tajo,River Ebro,River Duero,River Guadiana
  • Continent: Europe
  • Border Countries: Portugal in the west, by France and Andorra in the northeast. It shares borders with Morocco at the Spanish coastal exclaves of Ceuta and Melilla, the two permanently inhabited Spanish autonomous cities in Northern Africa. Spain also shares maritime borders with Algeria and Italy.

Map of Spain

National Symbols of Spain

  • National Bird: Spanish imperial eagle
  • National Anthem: “Marcha Real”
  • National Animal: Bull
  • National Flower: red carnation
  • National Poet: Miguel de Cervantes
  • National Game: football