Solomon Islands Facts and History

Discover the wonders of Solomon Islands!

Flag of Solomon Islands
National Flag of Solomon Islands

Interesting facts about Solomon Islands

  • Official Name: Solomon Islands
  • Form of Government: constitutional monarchy with one legislative house (National Parliament [50])
  • President: David Vunagi
  • Prime Minister: Manasseh Sogavare
  • GDP: 1.59 billion USD (2019)
  • Capital: Honiara
  • Population: 669,823 (2019)
  • Official Languages: English
  • Currency: Solomon Islands dollar
  • Timezone: GMT+11
  • Area: 28,400 km²
  • Dialing Code: +677
  • Major Mountain Ranges: Mount Kalourat,Mount Makarakomburu,Mount Popomanaseu,Tinakula,Mount Veve
  • Major Rivers: Lunga River,Matanikau River,Tenaru River
  • Continent: Oceania
  • Border Countries: A scattered archipelago of about 1,000 mountainous islands and low-lying coral atolls, the Solomon Islands lie east of Papua New Guinea and northeast of Australia in the south Pacific. The islands include Guadalcanal, Malaita, Santa Isabel, San Cristbal, Choiseul, New Georgia, and the Santa Cruz group.

Map of Solomon Islands

National Symbols of Solomon Islands

  • National Bird: Kurukuru bird
  • National Anthem: “God Save Our Solomon Islands”
  • National Animal: Sea turtles
  • National Flower: Hibiscus Flowers
  • National Poet: Not Declared
  • National Game: Football