Seychelles Facts and History

Discover the wonders of Seychelles!

Flag of Seychelles
National Flag of Seychelles

Interesting facts about Seychelles

  • Official Name: Repiblik Sesel (Creole); République des Seychelles (French); Republic of Seychelles (English)
  • Form of Government: multiparty republic with one legislative house (National Assembly [35])
  • President: Wavel Ramkalawan
  • Prime Minister: Sir James Mancham
  • GDP: 1.703 billion USD (2019)
  • Capital: Victoria
  • Population: 97,625 (2019)
  • Official Languages: seselwa
  • Currency: Seychellois rupee
  • Timezone: GMT+4
  • Area: 458.4 km²
  • Dialing Code: +248
  • Major Mountain Ranges: Morne,Mont Dauban,Morne Blanc, Mount Simpson
  • Major Rivers: Pointe Conan River,Rochon,Cascade,Du Cap
  • Continent: Africa
  • Border Countries: Seychelles is made up of two main groups of over 100 islands in the western Indian Ocean. Its closest neighbours are Kenya, around 1600 kilometres to the west, and Madagascar, which lies about 1100 kilometres south.

Map of Seychelles

National Symbols of Seychelles

  • National Bird: Seychelles black parrot
  • National Anthem: “Koste Seselwa”
  • National Animal: The striped dolphin
  • National Flower: tropicbird orchid
  • National Poet: N/A
  • National Game: Football