Senegal Facts and History

Discover the wonders of Senegal!

Flag of Senegal
National Flag of Senegal

Interesting facts about Senegal

  • Official Name: République du Sénégal (Republic of Senegal)
  • Form of Government: multiparty republic with one1 legislative house (National Assembly [165])
  • Prime Minister: Macky Sall2
  • GDP: 23.58 billion USD (2019)
  • Capital: Dakar
  • Population: 16.3 million (2019)
  • Official Languages: French
  • Currency: West African CFA franc
  • Timezone: GMT
  • Area: 196,712 km²
  • Dialing Code: +221
  • Major Mountain Ranges: Sambagalou,Féllo Kolomassi,Kourou Diakouma,Galeakouto
  • Major Rivers: Falémé,Saloum,Gambia,Niokolo
  • Continent: Africa
  • Border Countries: Its area of 196 722 sq km is bordered by Mauritania in the North, Mali in the East, Guinea and Guinea Bissau in the South and by a 550 km coastline of the Atlantic Ocean in the West. Dakar (550 sq km), its capital, is a peninsula located at the extreme West. Senegal is a flat land with sandy grounds.

Map of Senegal

National Symbols of Senegal

  • National Bird: pelicans
  • National Anthem: “Pincez tous vos koras, frappez les balafons”
  • National Animal: Lions
  • National Flower: Adansonia digitata
  • National Poet: Léopold Sédar Senghor
  • National Game: Wrestling