Saint Kitts and Nevis Facts and History

Discover the wonders of Saint Kitts and Nevis!

flag of Saint Kitts and Nevis
National Flag of Saint Kitts and Nevis

Interesting facts about Saint Kitts and Nevis

  • Official Name: Federation of Saint Kitts and Nevis1
  • Form of Government: federated constitutional monarchy with one legislative house (National Assembly [152])
  • President: Samuel Weymouth Tapley Seaton
  • Prime Minister: Timothy Harris
  • GDP: 1.053 billion USD (2019)
  • Capital: Basseterre
  • Population: 52,834 (2019)
  • Official Languages: English
  • Currency: Eastern Caribbean dollar
  • Timezone: GMT+4
  • Area: 261 km²
  • Dialing Code: +1
  • Major Mountain Ranges: Liamuiga
  • Major Rivers: Parsons Ghut,Cayon River,Lodge Ghut,Ottleys Ghut
  • Continent: North America
  • Border Countries: Formerly they belonged to a British colony in the West Indies from 1882 to 1983, known as Saint Christopher-Nevis-Anguilla. The newest nations in the Western Hemisphere shares maritime borders with Antigua and Barbuda, Netherlands (Sint Maarten), Venezuela, Montserrat (United Kingdom), and Saint Barthélemy (France).

Map of Saint Kitts and Nevis

National Symbols of Saint Kitts and Nevis

  • National Bird: brown pelican
  • National Anthem: “O Land of Beauty!”
  • National Animal: brown pelican
  • National Flower: Poinciana
  • National Poet: N/A
  • National Game: Football