Republic of Korea Facts and History

Discover the wonders of Republic of Korea!

Flag of South Korea
National Flag of Republic of Korea

Interesting facts about Republic of Korea

  • Official Name: Taehan Min’guk (Republic of Korea)
  • Form of Government: unitary multiparty republic with one legislative house (National Assembly [300])
  • President: Moon Jae-in
  • Prime Minister: Chung Sye-Kyun
  • GDP: 1.647 trillion USD (2019)
  • Capital: Seoul
  • Population: 51.71 million (2019)
  • Official Languages: Korean
  • Currency: South Korean won
  • Timezone: GMT+9
  • Area: 100,210 km²
  • Dialing Code: +82
  • Major Mountain Ranges: Baekdudaegan,Dongdae Mountains,Sobaek,Taebaek,Yeongnam
  • Major Rivers: Nakdong,Han,Geum,Anyangcheon
  • Continent: Asia
  • Border Countries: The country is bordered by the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (North Korea) to the north, the East Sea (Sea of Japan) to the east, the East China Sea to the south, and the Yellow Sea to the west; to the southeast it is separated from the Japanese island of Tsushima by the Korea Strait.

Map of Republic of Korea

National Symbols of Republic of Korea

  • National Bird: magpie
  • National Anthem: “Aegukga”
  • National Animal: Siberian tiger
  • National Flower: rose of Sharon
  • National Poet: Ko Un
  • National Game: Taekwondo