Peru Facts and History

Discover the wonders of Peru!

Flag of Peru
National Flag of Peru

Interesting facts about Peru

  • Official Name: República del Perú (Spanish) (Republic of Peru)
  • Form of Government: unitary multiparty republic with one legislative house (Congress of the Republic [130])
  • President: Francisco Sagasti
  • Prime Minister: Salvador del solar
  • GDP: 226.8 billion USD (2019)
  • Capital: Lima
  • Population: 32.51 million (2019)
  • Official Languages: Spanish
  • Currency: Sol
  • Timezone: GMT+5
  • Area: 1.285 million km²
  • Dialing Code: +51
  • Major Mountain Ranges: Chila,Chonta,Cordillera del Cóndor
  • Major Rivers: Amazon,Purus,Jurua,Marañón
  • Continent: South America
  • Border Countries: The boundaries with Colombia to the northeast and Brazil to the east traverse lower ranges or tropical forests, whereas the borders with Bolivia to the southeast, Chile to the south, and Ecuador to the northwest run across the high Andes.

Map of Peru

National Symbols of Peru

  • National Bird: cock-of-the-rock
  • National Anthem: “Himno Nacional del Perú”
  • National Animal: vicuñas
  • National Flower: Cantua buxifolia
  • National Poet: José Santos Chocano
  • National Game: Paleta Frontón