Paraguay Facts and History

Discover the wonders of Paraguay!

Flag of Paraguay
National Flag of Paraguay

Interesting facts about Paraguay

  • Official Name: República del Paraguay (Spanish); Tetä Paraguáype (Guaraní) (Republic of Paraguay)
  • Form of Government: multiparty republic with two legislative houses (Chamber of Senators [451]; Chamber of Deputies [80])
  • President: Mario Abdo Benítez
  • Prime Minister: N/A
  • GDP: 38.15 billion USD (2019)
  • Capital: Asunción
  • Population: 7.045 million (2019)
  • Official Languages: Paraguayan Guaraní
  • Currency: Paraguayan guaraní
  • Timezone: GMT+4
  • Area: 406,752 km²
  • Dialing Code: +595
  • Major Mountain Ranges: Cerro Pero,Cerro Leon,Cerro Nu Cany
  • Major Rivers: Jejui River,Manduvirá River,Tebicuary River
  • Continent: South America
  • Border Countries: Paraguay is a landlocked country located in central South America. Bolivia lies to the north, Brazil to the east, and Argentina to the south and west.

Map of Paraguay

National Symbols of Paraguay

  • National Bird: Bare-throated bellbird
  • National Anthem: “Himno Nacional de Uruguay”
  • National Animal: pampas fox
  • National Flower: passion flower
  • National Poet: Lourdes Espinola
  • National Game: Football