Papua New Guinea Facts and History

Discover the wonders of Papua New Guinea!

Flag of Papua New Guinea
National Flag of Papua New Guinea

Interesting facts about Papua New Guinea

  • Official Name: Independent State of Papua New Guinea
  • Form of Government: constitutional monarchy with one legislative house (National Parliament [111])
  • President: Bob Dadae
  • Prime Minister: James Marape
  • GDP: 24.83 billion USD (2019)
  • Capital: Port Moresby
  • Population: 8.776 million (2019)
  • Official Languages: Tok Pisin
  • Currency: Papua New Guinean kina
  • Timezone: GMT+10
  • Area: 462,840 km²
  • Dialing Code: +675
  • Major Mountain Ranges: Puncak Jaya,Sumantri,Ngga Pulu
  • Major Rivers: Fly River,Ramu River,Strickland River
  • Continent: Oceania
  • Border Countries: Papua New Guinea is an island country that lies in the south-western Pacific. It includes the eastern half of New Guinea and many small offshore islands. Its neighbours include Indonesia to the west, Australia to the south and Solomon Islands to the south-east.

Map of Papua New Guinea

National Symbols of Papua New Guinea

  • National Bird: Raggiana bird-of-paradise
  • National Anthem: “O Arise, All You Sons”
  • National Animal: Dugong
  • National Flower: Dendrobium Lasianthera
  • National Poet: Melissa Aigilo
  • National Game: Rugby league