Palau Facts and History

Discover the wonders of Palau!

Flag of Palau
National Flag of Palau

Interesting facts about Palau

  • Official Name: Beluu er a Belau (Palauan); Republic of Palau (English)
  • Form of Government: republic with two legislative houses (Senate [13]; House of Delegates [16])
  • President: Surangel Whipps, Jr.
  • Prime Minister: Thomas Remengesau Jr.
  • GDP: 268.4 million USD (2019)
  • Capital: Ngerulmud
  • Population: 18,008 (2019)
  • Official Languages: Palauan
  • Currency: United States Dollar
  • Timezone: GMT+6
  • Area: 459 km²
  • Dialing Code: +680
  • Major Mountain Ranges: Etiruir,Ngkesiu,Ngetchum,Roisersuul
  • Major Rivers: Mutukl,Ngareboku,Geriiki
  • Continent: Oceania
  • Border Countries: The Republic of Palau consists of eight principal islands and more than 250 smaller ones lying roughly 500 miles southeast of the Philippines, in Oceania.

Map of Palau

National Symbols of Palau

  • National Bird: Palau fruit dove
  • National Anthem: “”Belau rekid”
  • National Animal: jellyfish
  • National Flower: Plumeria Rubra Acutifolia
  • National Poet: Ymesei O. Ezekiel
  • National Game: baseball