North Macedonia Facts and History

Discover the wonders of North Macedonia!

Flag of North Macedonia
National Flag of North Macedonia

Interesting facts about North Macedonia

  • Official Name: Republic of North Macedonia
  • Form of Government: unitary multiparty republic with a unicameral legislature (Sobranie, or Assembly [123])
  • President: Stevo Pendarovski
  • Prime Minister: Oliver Spasovski
  • GDP: 12.55 billion USD (2019)
  • Capital: Skopje
  • Population: 2.077 million (2019)
  • Official Languages: Macedonian
  • Currency: Macedonian denar
  • Timezone: GMT+2
  • Area: 25,713 km²
  • Dialing Code: +389
  • Major Mountain Ranges: Mount Korab,Šar Mountains,Baba,Jakupica
  • Major Rivers: Vardar,Bregalnica,Crna River,Pcinja
  • Continent: Europe
  • Border Countries: North Macedonia, country of the south-central Balkans. It is bordered to the north by Kosovo and Serbia, to the east by Bulgaria, to the south by Greece, and to the west by Albania.

Map of North North Macedonia

National Symbols of North Macedonia

  • National Bird: Little owl
  • National Anthem: “Today Over Macedonia”
  • National Animal: Lion
  • National Flower: Opium poppy
  • National Poet: Kočo Racin
  • National Game: football