Nigeria Facts and History

Discover the wonders of Nigeria!

Flag of Nigeria
National Flag of Nigeria

Interesting facts about Nigeria

  • Official Name: Federal Republic of Nigeria
  • Form of Government: federal republic with two legislative houses (Senate [109]; House of Representatives [360])
  • President: Muhammadu Buhari
  • Prime Minister: N/A
  • GDP: 448.1 billion USD (2019)
  • Capital: Abuja
  • Population: 201 million (2019)
  • Official Languages: English
  • Currency: Nigerian naira
  • Timezone: GMT+1
  • Area: 923,768 km²
  • Dialing Code: +234
  • Major Mountain Ranges: Oban Hills,Aso Rock,Zuma Rock,Oshie Ridge
  • Major Rivers: River Benue,Anambra River,Kaduna River
  • Continent: Africa
  • Border Countries: Nigeria officially named the Federal Republic of Nigeria is a federal constitutional republic comprising thirty-six states and one Federal Capital Territory. The country is located in West Africa and shares land borders with the Republic of Benin in the west, Chad and Cameroon in the east, and Niger in the north.

Map of Nigeria

National Symbols of Nigeria

  • National Bird: black crowned crane
  • National Anthem: “Arise, O Compatriots”
  • National Animal: tiger
  • National Flower: Costus Spectabilis
  • National Poet: Chinua Achebe
  • National Game: football