New Zealand Facts and History

Discover the wonders of New Zealand!

Flag of New Zealand
National Flag of New Zealand

Interesting facts about New Zealand

  • Official Name: New Zealand (English); Aotearoa (Maori)
  • Form of Government: constitutional monarchy with one legislative house (House of Representatives [120])
  • President: Dame Patsy Reddy
  • Prime Minister: Jacinda Ardern
  • GDP: 206.9 billion USD (2019)
  • Capital: Wellington
  • Population: 4.917 million (2019)
  • Official Languages: English
  • Currency: New Zealand dollar
  • Timezone: GMT+12
  • Area: 268,021 km²
  • Dialing Code: +64
  • Major Mountain Ranges: Mount Taranaki,Aoraki,Mitre Peak,Mount Ngauruhoe,The Remarkables
  • Major Rivers: Rhine,Meuse,waal,ljssel,Scheldt
  • Continent: Oceania
  • Border Countries: New Zealand shares maritime borders with American Samoa (United States), Australia, Fiji, French Polynesia (France), Kiribati, Samoa, and Tonga. The islands of NZ lie along the collision lines of the Pacific and the Australian tectonic plates.

Map of New Zealand

National Symbols of New Zealand

  • National Bird: Kiwis
  • National Anthem: “God Defend New Zealand”
  • National Animal: Kiwis
  • National Flower: silver fern
  • National Poet: David Eggleton
  • National Game: Rugby Events