Netherlands Facts and History

Discover the wonders of Netherlands!

Flag of the Netherlands
National Flag of Netherlands

Interesting facts about Netherlands

  • Official Name: Koninkrijk der Nederlanden (Kingdom of the Netherlands)
  • Form of Government: constitutional monarchy with a parliament (States General) comprising two houses (Senate [75]; House of Representatives [150])
  • President: King Willem-Alexander
  • Prime Minister: Mark Rutte
  • GDP: 907.1 billion USD (2019)
  • Capital: Amsterdam
  • Population: 17.28 million (2019)
  • Official Languages: Dutch
  • Currency: Euro
  • Timezone: GMT+2
  • Area: 41,543 km²
  • Dialing Code: +31
  • Major Mountain Ranges: Mount Scenery,Quill,Mazinga,Maskehorne Hill
  • Major Rivers: Rhine,Meuse,waal,ljssel,Scheldt
  • Continent: Europe
  • Border Countries: The Netherlands is bounded by the North Sea to the north and west, Germany to the east, and Belgium to the south.

Map of Netherlands

National Symbols of Netherlands

  • National Bird: Black-tailed Godwit
  • National Anthem: “Wilhelmus van Nassouwe”
  • National Animal: Lion
  • National Flower: Tulips
  • National Poet: Jacob Cats
  • National Game: Football