Nauru Facts and History

Discover the wonders of Nauru!

Flag of Nauru
National Flag of Nauru

Interesting facts about Nauru

  • Official Name: Naoero (Nauruan1) (Republic of Nauru)
  • Form of Government: republic with one legislative house (Parliament [19])
  • President: Lionel Aingimea
  • Prime Minister: David Adeang
  • GDP: 118.2 million USD (2019)
  • Capital: Yaren
  • Population: 12,581 (2019)
  • Official Languages: Nauruan
  • Currency: Australian dollar
  • Timezone: GMT+12
  • Area: 21 km²
  • Dialing Code: +674
  • Major Mountain Ranges: Nauru Island,Command Ridge Top of Nauru,Central Plateau
  • Major Rivers: N/A
  • Continent: Oceania
  • Border Countries: Its nearest neighbour is Banaba Island in Kiribati, 300 km (190 mi) to the east. It further lies northwest of Tuvalu, 1,300 km (810 mi) northeast of the Solomon Islands, east-northeast of Papua New Guinea, southeast of the Federated States of Micronesia and south of the Marshall Islands.

Map of Nauru

National Symbols of Nauru

  • National Bird: Pheasants
  • National Anthem: “Nauru Bwiema”
  • National Animal: Great Frigatebird
  • National Flower: Calophyllum inophyllum
  • National Poet: Margaret Hendrie
  • National Game: Australian rules football