Mozambique Facts and History

Discover the wonders of Mozambique!

Flag of Mozambique
National Flag of Mozambique

Interesting facts about Mozambique

  • Official Name: República de Moçambique (Republic of Mozambique)
  • Form of Government: multiparty republic with a single legislative house (Assembly of the Republic [250])
  • President: Filipe Nyusi
  • Prime Minister: Carlos Agostinho do Rosário
  • GDP: 15.29 billion USD (2019)
  • Capital: Maputo
  • Population: 30.37 million (2019)
  • Official Languages: Portuguese
  • Currency: Mozambican metical
  • Timezone: GMT+2
  • Area: 801,590 km²
  • Dialing Code: +258
  • Major Mountain Ranges: Bvumba Mountains,Eastern Highlands,Lebombo
  • Major Rivers: Lugenda,Lureco River
  • Continent: Africa
  • Border Countries: Mozambique borders Tanzania, Malawi, Zambia, Zimbabwe, South Africa, and Eswatini. Its long Indian Ocean coastline of 2,500 kilometers faces east to Madagascar.

Map of Mozambique

National Symbols of Mozambique

  • National Bird: Tocororo
  • National Anthem: “Pátria Amada”
  • National Animal: African Elephant
  • National Flower: Maroon Bell Bean
  • National Poet: Jorge Rebelo
  • National Game: football