Micronesia Facts and History

Discover the wonders of Micronesia!

flag of Micronesia
National Flag of Micronesia

Interesting facts about Micronesia

  • Official Name: Federated States of Micronesia
  • Form of Government: federal nonparty republic in free association with the United States with one legislative house (Congress [14])
  • President: Peter M. Christian
  • Prime Minister: Emanuel Mori
  • GDP: 401.9 million USD (2018)
  • Capital: Palikir
  • Population: 113,815 (2019)
  • Official Languages: English
  • Currency: United States Dollar
  • Timezone: GMT+11
  • Area: 702 km²
  • Dialing Code: +691
  • Major Mountain Ranges: Mount Dolohmwar,Pohnpei,Mount Nanlaud,Dolmweir Peaks
  • Major Rivers: Mutunte.Yekula,Sunganspaul
  • Continent: Oceania
  • Border Countries: The four states are, Chuuk (Truk) islands, Kosrae (Kosaie), Pohnpei (Ponape) and Yap. The FSM shares maritime borders with the Marshall Islands, Palau, Papua New Guinea, and Guam (United States).

Map of Micronesia

National Symbols of Micronesia

  • National Bird: Pohnpei lorikeet
  • National Anthem: “Patriots of Micronesia”
  • National Animal: Chuuk Flying Fox
  • National Flower: Plumeria Frangipanis
  • National Poet: Emelihter S. Kihleng
  • National Game: Baseball