Mauritius Islands Facts and History

Discover the wonders of Mauritius!

Flag of Mauritius
National Flag of Mauritius

Interesting facts about Mauritius

  • Official Name: Republic of Mauritius
  • Form of Government: republic with one legislative house (National Assembly [691])
  • President: Prithvirajsing Roopun
  • Prime Minister: Pravind Jugnauth
  • GDP: 14.05 billion USD (2019)
  • Capital: Port Louis
  • Population: 1.266 million (2019)
  • Official Languages: English
  • Currency: Mauritian rupee
  • Timezone: GMT+4
  • Area: 2,040 km²
  • Dialing Code: +230
  • Major Mountain Ranges: Le Morne Brabant,Lion Mountain,Pieter Both
  • Major Rivers: Rivière du Poste de Flacq,Rivière Sèche,Grand River South East
  • Continent: Africa
  • Border Countries: Mauritius is a subtropical island country in the Indian Ocean, just over 1,130 kilometres east of Madagascar, off the south-eastern coast of Africa.

Map of Mauritius

National Symbols of Mauritius

  • National Bird: Dodo
  • National Anthem: “Motherland”
  • National Animal: dodo
  • National Flower: Trochetia Boutoniana
  • National Poet: Jean-Georges Prosper
  • National Game: football