Malawi Facts and History

Discover the wonders of Malawi!

Flag of Malawi
National Flag of Malawi

Interesting facts about Malawi

  • Official Name: Republic of Malawi
  • Form of Government: multiparty republic with one legislative house (National Assembly [193])
  • President: Lazarus Chakwera
  • Prime Minister: Hastings Banda
  • GDP: 7.667 billion USD (2019)
  • Capital: Lilongwe
  • Population: 18.63 million (2019)
  • Official Languages: English
  • Currency: Malawian kwacha
  • Timezone: GMT-2
  • Area: 118,484 km²
  • Dialing Code: +265
  • Major Mountain Ranges: Matundwe Range,Misuku Hills,Viphya Mountains
  • Major Rivers: Bwanje,Bua,Dwangwa,Rumpi
  • Continent: Africa
  • Border Countries: Malawi is a south-east African country bordered by Zambia, the United Republic of Tanzania and Mozambique. It is narrow and landlocked but has a 750-kilometre-long border with Lake Malawi (also called Lake Nyasa).

Map of Malawi

National Symbols of Malawi

  • National Bird: fish eagles
  • National Anthem: “O God bless our land of Malawi”
  • National Animal: Thompson’s gazelle
  • National Flower: lotus
  • National Poet: Robert Chiwamba
  • National Game: football