Liechtenstein Facts and History

Discover the wonders of Liechtenstein!

Flag of Liechtenstein
National Flag of Liechtenstein

Interesting facts about Liechtenstein

  • Official Name: rincipality of Liechtenstein Fürstentum Liechtenstein (German)
  • Form of Government: The Principality of Liechtenstein is a constitutional hereditary monarchy on a democratic and parliamentary basis.
  • President: Prince Hans-Adam II
  • Prime Minister: Adrian Hasler
  • GDP: 6.877 billion USD (2018)
  • Capital: Vaduz
  • Population: 38,378 (2019)
  • Official Languages: German
  • Currency: Swiss franc
  • Timezone: GMT-2
  • Area: 160 km²
  • Dialing Code: +423
  • Major Mountain Ranges: Naafkopf,Hinter Grauspitz,Grauspitz
  • Major Rivers: Fürstentum
  • Continent: Europe
  • Border Countries: Liechtenstein is bordered by Switzerland to the west and south and Austria to the east and north.

Map of Liechtenstein

National Symbols of Liechtenstein

  • National Bird: kestrel
  • National Anthem: “Oben am jungen Rhein”
  • National Animal: kestrel
  • National Flower: yellow Lily
  • National Poet: Peter Kaiser
  • National Game: Football