Lesotho Facts and History

Discover the wonders of Lesotho!

Flag of Lesotho
National Flag of Lesotho

Interesting facts about Lesotho

  • Official Name: ‘Muso oa Lesotho (Sotho); Kingdom of Lesotho (English)
  • Form of Government: constitutional monarchy with two legislative houses (Senate [33 nonelected seats]; National Assembly [120])
  • President: Matoka Judith Thabane
  • Prime Minister: Moeketsi Majoro
  • GDP: 2.376 billion USD (2019)
  • Capital: Maseru
  • Population: 2.125 million (2019)
  • Official Languages: English
  • Currency: Lesotho loti
  • Timezone: GMT+2
  • Area: 30,355 km²
  • Dialing Code: +266
  • Major Mountain Ranges: Drakensberg,Maloti Mountains
  • Major Rivers: Orange River,Caledon,Little Caledon,Makhaleng
  • Continent: Africa
  • Border Countries: Lesotho is completely surrounded by South Africa, making it one of only three countries in the world that are enclaved within another country

Map of Lesotho

National Symbols of Lesotho

  • National Bird: Drakensberg Rockjumper
  • National Anthem: “Lesotho Fatse La Bontata Rona”
  • National Animal: black rhinoceros
  • National Flower: Aloe polyphylla
  • National Poet: Thomas Mofolo
  • National Game: football