Guyana Facts

Discover the wonders of Guyana!

Flag of Guyana
National Flag of Guyana

Interesting facts about Guyana

  • Official Name: The Co-operative Republic of Guyana
  • Form of Government: Unitary parliamentary constitutional republic
  • GDP: 3.879 billion USD (2018)
  • Capital: Georgetown
  • Population: 779,004 (2018)
  • Official Languages: English
  • Currency: Guyanese dollar
  • Timezone: GMT+4
  • Area: 214,969 km²
  • Dialing Code: +592
  • Major Mountain Ranges: Acarai Mountains,Eastern Tepuis,Imataka Mountains,Kanuku Mountains,Pacaraima Mountains
  • Major Rivers: Courentyne,Mahaicony,Mahaica,Demerara,Haiama
  • Continent: South America
  • Border Countries: Guyana is bordered by the Atlantic Ocean to the north, by Suriname (along the Courantyne River) to the east, by Brazil to the south and southwest, and by Venezuela to the west.

Map of Guyana

National Symbols of Guyana

  • National Bird: Hoatzin
  • National Flower: Victoria Amazonica
  • National Animal: Jaguar Guyana
  • National Tree: Maripa palm
  • National Fruit : Pitahaya