Ghana Facts

Discover the wonders of Ghana!

Flag of Ghana
National Flag of Ghana

Interesting facts about Ghana

  • Official Name: The Republic of Ghana
  • Form of Government: Unitary presidential constitutional republic
  • GDP: 65.56 billion USD (2018)
  • Capital: Accra
  • Population: 29.77 million (2018)
  • Official Languages: English
  • Currency: Ghanaian cedi
  • Timezone: GMT
  • Area: 238,535 km²
  • Dialing Code: +233
  • Major Mountain Ranges: Mount Adaklu,Mount Aduadu,Mount Afadja,Agumatsa Range
  • Major Rivers: Bia,Tano,Nini,Ankobra,Pra,Ofin
  • Continent: Africa
  • Border Countries: Three countries: Burkina Faso (602 km) to the north, Ivory Coast (720 km) to the west, and Togo (1,098 km) to the east. To the south are the Gulf of Guinea and the Atlantic Ocean.

Map of Ghana

National Symbols of Ghana

  • National Bird: Golden eagle
  • National Flower: Hibiscus flowers
  • National Animal: Tawny Eagle
  • National Tree: Tieghemella heckelii
  • National Fruit : Ackee