Cuba Facts

Discover the wonders of Cuba!

Flag of Cuba
National Flag of Cuba

Interesting facts about Cuba

  • Official Name: Republic of Cuba
  • Form of Government: Marxist–Leninist one-party state
  • GDP: 100 billion USD (2018)
  • Capital: Havana
  • Population: 11.34 million (2018)
  • Official Languages: Spanish
  • Currency: Cuban peso
  • Timezone: GMT+4
  • Area: 109,884 km²
  • Dialing Code: +53
  • Major Mountain Ranges: Escambray Mountains,Guaniguanico,Sierra Maestra,Nipe-Sagua-Baracoa,Sierra del Rosario
  • Major Rivers: Cauto,Toa,Guama,Yumuri
  • Continent: North America
  • Border Countries: The country is situated in the western West Indies, between the Caribbean Sea and the Gulf of Mexico, south of Florida and The Bahamas, north of Jamaica and the Cayman Islands. Cuba shares maritime borders with The Bahamas, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, and the United States.

Map of Cuba

National Symbols of Cuba

  • National Bird: Cuban trogon
  • National Flower: White Mariposa
  • National Tree: Royal Palm
  • National Fruit : Mamey sapote