Costa Rica Facts

Discover the wonders of Costa Rica!

Flag of Costa Rica
National Flag of Costa Rica

Interesting facts about Costa Rica

  • Official Name: Republic of Costa Rica
  • Form of Government: Unitary presidential constitutional republic
  • GDP: 60.13 billion USD (2018)
  • Capital: San José
  • Population: 4.999 million (2018)
  • Official Languages: Spanish
  • Currency: Costa Rican colón
  • Timezone: GMT+6
  • Area: 51,100 km²
  • Dialing Code: +56
  • Major Mountain Ranges: Cordillera Central,Cordillera de Talamanca,Cerros de Escazú,Cordillera de Guanacaste
  • Major Rivers: San Juan,Colorado,Chirripó,Sarapiquí,Toro
  • Continent: North America
  • Border Countries: Costa Rica is bordered by the Pacific Ocean, the Caribbean Sea, Nicaragua to the north, and Panama to the south.

Map of Costa Rica

National Symbols of Costa Rica

  • National Bird: Clay-colored thrush
  • National Animal: White-tailed deer
  • National Flower: Purple Country Girl
  • National Tree: Guanacaste tree