Belgium Facts

Discover the wonders of Belgium!

Flag of Belgium
National Flag of Belgium

Interesting facts about Belgium

  • Official Name: The Kingdom of Belgium
  • Form of Government: Federal parliamentary constitutional monarchy
  • GDP: 542.8 billion USD (2018)
  • Capital: Brussels
  • Population: 11.46 million (2019)
  • Official Languages: Dutch, French, German
  • Currency: Euro
  • Timezone: GMT+2
  • Area: 30,689 km²
  • Dialing Code: +32
  • Major Mountain Ranges: Weißer Stein,Mont Rigi,Baraque Michel,Steling,Baraque de Fraiture
  • Major Rivers: Meuse,Scheldt,Oise,Semois
  • Continent: Europe
  • Border Countries: Belgium is a federal state located in Western Europe, bordering the North Sea. Belgium shares borders with France (556 km), Germany (133 km), Luxembourg (130 km) and the Netherlands (478 km)

Map of Belgium

National Symbols of Belgium

  • National Bird: Common kestrel
  • National Animal: lion
  • National Flower: Common Red Poppy
  • National Tree: Taxus Baccata
  • National Fruit: pears, apples