Austria Facts

Discover the wonders of Austria!

Flag of Australia
National Flag of Austria

Interesting facts about Austria

  • Official Name: Republic of Austria (Republik Österreich).
  • Form of Government: Federal semi-presidential republic
  • GDP: 455.3 billion USD (2018)
  • Capital: Wien
  • Population: 8.859 million (2019)
  • Official Languages: German
  • Currency: Euro
  • Timezone: GMT+2
  • Area: 83,879 km²
  • Dialing Code: +43
  • Major Mountain Ranges: Alps,Bohemian Forest,Eastern Alps,Lienz Dolomites,Little Carpathians
  • Major Rivers: Danube,Inn,Enns,Salzach,Mur,Drava
  • Continent: Europe
  • Border Countries: European Union. Border countries are: Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Liechtenstein, Slovakia, Slovenia, and Switzerland.

Map of Austria

National Symbols of Austria

  • National Bird: Barn swallow
  • National Animal: Black Eagle
  • National Flower: Edelweiss
  • National Tree: Beech tree
  • National Fruit: Apple