Togo Facts and History

Discover the wonders of Togo!

Flag of Togo
National Flag of Togo

Interesting facts about Togo

  • Official Name: République Togolaise (Togolese Republic)
  • Form of Government: multiparty republic with one legislative house (National Assembly [91])
  • President: Faure Gnassingbé
  • Prime Minister: Victoire Tomégah-Dogbé
  • GDP: 5.49 billion USD (2019)
  • Capital: Lomé
  • Population: 8.082 million (2019)
  • Official Languages: French
  • Currency: West African CFA franc
  • Timezone: GMT
  • Area: 56,785 km²
  • Dialing Code: +228
  • Major Mountain Ranges: Agou,Sokbaro,Atakora
  • Major Rivers: Todzie River,Oti River
  • Continent: Africa
  • Border Countries: Togo (official name Togolese Republic) is a country in West Africa with a short coastline (just 56 km) on the Bight of Benin, which is part of the Gulf of Guinea (North Atlantic). The country is bordered by Benin, Burkina Faso, and Ghana.

Map of Togo

National Symbols of Togo

  • National Bird: hammerkop
  • National Anthem: “Terre de nos aïeux”
  • National Animal: Lion
  • National Flower: Rose
  • National Poet: Joseph Kokou Koffigoh
  • National Game: football