Suriname Facts and History

Discover the wonders of Suriname!

Flag of Suriname
National Flag of Suriname

Interesting facts about Suriname

  • Official Name: Jumhūriyyat al-Sūdān1, 2 (Republic of the Sudan)
  • Form of Government: multiparty republic with one legislative house (National Assembly
  • President: Chandrikapersad Santokhi
  • Prime Minister: N/A
  • GDP: 3.697 billion USD (2019)
  • Capital: Paramaribo
  • Population: 581,363 (2019)
  • Official Languages: Dutch
  • Currency: Suriname Dollar
  • Timezone: GMT+3
  • Area: 163,821 km²
  • Dialing Code: +597
  • Major Mountain Ranges: Bakhuis Mountains,Grutterink Mountains,Kayser,Lely
  • Major Rivers: Marowijne,Tapanahony,Gonini River,Paloemeu
  • Continent: South America
  • Border Countries: Suriname is bordered by the Atlantic Ocean to the north, by French Guiana to the east, by Brazil to the south, and by Guyana to the west. Suriname is involved in territorial disputes with both Guyana and French Guiana that are legacies of colonial rule.

Map of Suriname

National Symbols of Suriname

  • National Bird: Great Kiskadee
  • National Anthem: “God zij met ons Suriname”
  • National Animal: lesser kiskadee
  • National Flower: Ixora coccinea
  • National Poet: Jan Voorhoeve
  • National Game: football