Saint Lucia Facts and History

Discover the wonders of Saint Lucia!

Flag of Saint Lucia
National Flag of Saint Lucia

Interesting facts about Saint Lucia

  • Official Name: Saint Lucia
  • Form of Government: constitutional monarchy with a Parliament consisting of two legislative chambers (Senate [111]; House of Assembly [182])
  • President: Sir Neville Cenac
  • Prime Minister: Allen Chastanet
  • GDP: 2.122 billion USD (2019)
  • Capital: Castries
  • Population: 182,790 (2019)
  • Official Languages: English
  • Currency: Eastern Caribbean dollar
  • Timezone: GMT+4
  • Area: 617 km²
  • Dialing Code: +1
  • Major Mountain Ranges: Junipero Serra,Cone Peak,Ventana Double Cone,Mount Carmel
  • Major Rivers: Trou Sallé,Esperance,Dauphin,Trou Grauval
  • Continent: North America
  • Border Countries: Saint Lucia shares maritime borders with Barbados, Martinique (France), Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, and Venezuela. Like many islands in the Eastern Caribbean, Saint Lucia is of volcanic origin and mountainous with some broad, fertile valleys.

Map of Saint Lucia

National Symbols of Saint Lucia

  • National Bird: Saint Lucia Amazon
  • National Anthem: “Sons and Daughters of Saint Lucia!”
  • National Animal: wildlife
  • National Flower: marguerite
  • National Poet: Sir Derek Walcott
  • National Game: Football