Rwanda Facts and History

Discover the wonders of Rwanda!

Flag of Rwanda
National Flag of Rwanda

Interesting facts about Rwanda

  • Official Name: Repubulika y’u Rwanda (Rwanda); République Rwandaise (French); Republic of Rwanda (English)
  • Form of Government: multiparty republic with two legislative houses (Senate [26]; Chamber of Deputies [80])
  • President: Paul Kagame
  • Prime Minister: Edouard Ngirente
  • GDP: 10.35 billion USD (2019)
  • Capital: Kigali
  • Population: 12.63 million (2019)
  • Official Languages: Kinyarwanda
  • Currency: Rwandan franc
  • Timezone: GMT+2
  • Area: 26,338 km²
  • Dialing Code: +250
  • Major Mountain Ranges: Albertine Rift,Eastern Rift mountains,Virunga Mountains
  • Major Rivers: Major Rivers,Sebeya River,Rubyiro River
  • Continent: Africa
  • Border Countries: Rwanda is a densely populated, land-locked country in east-central Africa. Its neighbours are Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania, Burundi and the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

Map of Rwanda

National Symbols of Rwanda

  • National Bird: Shoebill
  • National Anthem: “Rwanda Nziza”
  • National Animal: Leopard
  • National Flower: Red Rose
  • National Poet: N/A
  • National Game: Football