Nicaragua Facts and History

Discover the wonders of Nicaragua!

Flag of New Zealand
National Flag of Nicaragua

Interesting facts about Nicaragua

  • Official Name: República de Nicaragua (Republic of Nicaragua)
  • Form of Government: unitary multiparty republic with one legislative house (National Assembly [921])
  • President: Daniel Ortega
  • Prime Minister: Daniel Ortega
  • GDP: 12.52 billion USD (2019)
  • Capital: Managua
  • Population: 6.546 million (2019)
  • Official Languages: Spanish
  • Currency: Nicaraguan córdoba
  • Timezone: GMT+6
  • Area: 130,370 km²
  • Dialing Code: +505
  • Major Mountain Ranges: Amerrisque Mountains,Cordillera Isabelia,Cordillera de los Maribios
  • Major Rivers: Rio Escondido,Punta gorda River,Kukra River,Rio kurinwas
  • Continent: North America
  • Border Countries: Nicaragua is bounded by Honduras to the north, the Caribbean Sea to the east, Costa Rica to the south, and the Pacific Ocean to the west.

Map of Nicaragua

National Symbols of Nicaragua

  • National Bird: Turquoise-browed motmot
  • National Anthem: “Salve a ti, Nicaragua”
  • National Animal: Guardabarranco
  • National Flower: sacuanjoche
  • National Poet: Rubén Darío
  • National Game: Baseball