Mongolia Facts and History

Discover the wonders of Mongolia!

Flag of Mongolia
National Flag of Mongolia

Interesting facts about Mongolia

  • Official Name: Mongol Uls (Mongolia)
  • Form of Government: unitary multiparty republic with one legislative house (State Great Hural [76])
  • President: Khaltmaa Battulga
  • Prime Minister: Luvsannamsrai Oyun-Erdene
  • GDP: 14 billion USD (2019)
  • Capital: Ulaanbaatar
  • Population: 3.225 million (2019)
  • Official Languages: Mongolian
  • Currency: Mongolian tögrög
  • Timezone: GMT+8
  • Area: 1.566 million km²
  • Dialing Code: +976
  • Major Mountain Ranges: Khangai,Hangayn
  • Major Rivers: Orkhon,Kherlen,Selenge
  • Continent: Asia
  • Border Countries: Mongolia is bordered by China to the south, east, and west, and Russia to the north.

Map of Mongolia

National Symbols of Mongolia

  • National Bird: falcon
  • National Anthem: “State Anthem of the Mongolian People’s Republic”
  • National Animal: hedgehogPrzewalski Horse
  • National Flower: Scabiosa comosa
  • National Poet: Hadaa Sendoo  
  • National Game: Mongolian wrestling