Malaysia Facts and History

Discover the wonders of Malaysia!

Flag of Malaysia
National Flag of Malaysia

Interesting facts about Malaysia

  • Official Name: Malaysia
  • Form of Government: federal constitutional monarchy with two legislative houses (Senate [701]; House of Representatives [222])
  • President: Sultan Abdullah
  • Prime Minister: Muhyiddin Yassin
  • GDP: 364.7 billion USD (2019)
  • Capital: Kuala Lumpur
  • Population: 31.95 million (2019)
  • Official Languages: Malay
  • Currency: Malaysian ringgit
  • Timezone: GMT-8
  • Area: 329,847 km²
  • Dialing Code: +60
  • Major Mountain Ranges: Mount Kinabalu,Titiwangsa
  • Major Rivers: Pahang,Klang,Rajang
  • Continent: Asia
  • Border Countries: The borders of Malaysia include land and maritime borders with Brunei, Indonesia and Thailand and shared maritime boundaries with Philippines, Singapore and Vietnam.

Map of Malaysia

National Symbols of Malaysia

  • National Bird: Rhino hornbills
  • National Anthem: “Negaraku”
  • National Animal: Malayan tiger
  • National Flower: Hibiscus rosa-sinensis
  • National Poet: Usman Awang
  • National Game: Sepaktakraw