Madagascar Facts and History

Discover the wonders of Madagascar!

Flag of Madagascar
National Flag of Madagascar

Interesting facts about Madagascar

  • Official Name: République de Madagascar (French) (Republic of Madagascar)
  • Form of Government: republic with two legislative houses (National Assembly [151] and Senate [631])2
  • President: Andry Rajoelina
  • Prime Minister: Christian Ntsay
  • GDP: 14.11 billion USD (2019)
  • Capital: Antananarivo
  • Population: 26.97 million (2019)
  • Official Languages: Malagasy
  • Currency: Malagasy ariary
  • Timezone: GMT-3
  • Area: 587,041 km²
  • Dialing Code: +261
  • Major Mountain Ranges: Andringitra Massif,Ankaratra
  • Major Rivers: Mananara,Sambirano,Mahajamba
  • Continent: Africa
  • Border Countries: Countries geographically close to Madagascar are Mauritius, Réunion, and South Africa.

Map of Madagascar

National Symbols of Madagascar

  • National Bird: Madagascar fish eagle
  • National Anthem: “Ry Tanindrazanay malala ô!”
  • National Animal: ring-tailed lemur
  • National Flower: Delonix regia
  • National Poet: Jean-Joseph Rabearivelo
  • National Game: Rugby