List of States by Statehood

The following list is the date of statehood in each US state.

OrderStateStatehood DateFormed From
1DelawareDecember 7, 1787Colony of Delaware
2PennsylvaniaDecember 12, 1787Proprietary Province of Pennsylvania
3New JerseyDecember 18, 1787Crown Colony of New Jersey
4GeorgiaJanuary 2, 1788Crown Colony of Georgia
5ConnecticutJanuary 9, 1788Crown Colony of Connecticut
6MassachusettsFebruary 6, 1788Crown Colony of Massachusetts Bay
7MarylandApril 28, 1788Proprietary Province of Maryland
8South CarolinaMay 23, 1788Crown Colony of South Carolina
9New HampshireJune 21, 1788Crown Colony of New Hampshire
10VirginiaJune 25, 1788Crown Colony and Dominion of Virginia
11New YorkJuly 26, 1788Crown Colony of New York
12North CarolinaNovember 21, 1789Crown Colony of North Carolina
13Rhode IslandMay 29, 1790Crown Colony of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations
14VermontMarch 4, 1791Vermont Republic
15KentuckyJune 1, 1792Virginia (nine counties in its District of Kentucky
16TennesseeJune 1, 1796Southwest Territory
17OhioMarch 1, 1803Northwest Territory
18LouisianaApril 30, 1812Territory of Orleans
19IndianaDecember 11, 1816Indiana Territory
20MississippiDecember 10, 1817Mississippi Territory
21IllinoisDecember 3, 1818Illinois Territory
22AlabamaDecember 14, 1819Alabama Territory
23MaineMarch 15, 1820Massachusetts (District of Maine)
24MissouriAugust 10, 1821Missouri Territory
25ArkansasJune 15, 1836Arkansas Territory
26MichiganJanuary 26, 1837Michigan Territory
27FloridaMarch 3, 1845Florida Territory
28TexasDecember 29, 1845Republic of Texas
29IowaDecember 28, 1846Iowa Territory
30WisconsinMay 29, 1848Wisconsin Territory
31CaliforniaSeptember 9, 1850Unorganized territory / Mexican Cession
32MinnesotaMay 11, 1858Minnesota Territory
33OregonFebruary 14, 1859Oregon Territory
34KansasJanuary 29, 1861Kansas Territory
35West VirginiaJune 20, 1863Virginia (50 Trans-Allegheny region counties)
36NevadaOctober 31, 1864Nevada Territory
37NebraskaMarch 1, 1867Nebraska Territory
38ColoradoAugust 1, 1876Colorado Territory
39North DakotaNovember 2, 1889Dakota Territory
40South DakotaNovember 2, 1889Dakota Territory
41MontanaNovember 8, 1889Montana Territory
42WashingtonNovember 11, 1889Washington Territory
43IdahoJuly 3, 1890Idaho Territory
44WyomingJuly 10, 1890Wyoming Territory
45UtahJanuary 4, 1896Utah Territory
46OklahomaNovember 16, 1907Oklahoma Territory and Indian Territory
47New MexicoJanuary 6, 1912New Mexico Territory
48ArizonaFebruary 14, 1912Arizona Territory
49AlaskaJanuary 3, 1959Territory of Alaska
50HawaiiAugust 21, 1959Territory of Hawaii

Leave a Comment