Kazakhstan Facts and History

Discover the wonders of Kazakhstan!

Flag of Kazakhstan
National Flag of Kazakhstan

Interesting facts about Kazakhstan

  • Official Name: Qazaqstan Respublikasy
  • Form of Government: unitary republic with a Parliament consisting of two houses (Senate [491] and House of Representatives [107])
  • President: Kassym-Jomart Tokayev
  • Prime Minister: Asqar Mamin
  • GDP: 181.7 billion USD (2019)
  • Capital: Nur-Sultan
  • Population: 18.51 million (2019)
  • Official Languages: Kazakh
  • Currency: Kazakhstani tenge
  • Timezone: GMT+6
  • Area: 2.725 million km²
  • Dialing Code: +7
  • Major Mountain Ranges: Aktau,Alatau,Dzungarian,Bayan-Zhurek
  • Major Rivers: Irtysh,Ishim,Ural,Syr Darya
  • Continent: Central Asia
  • Border Countries: It is bounded on the northwest and north by Russia, on the east by China, and on the south by Kyrgyzstan, Uzbekistan, the Aral Sea, and Turkmenistan; the Caspian Sea bounds Kazakhstan to the southwest.

Map of Kazakhstan

National Symbols of Kazakhstan

  • National Bird: Steppe eagle
  • National Anthem: “Qazaqstanym”
  • National Animal: golden eagle
  • National Flower: tulips
  • National Tree: Asian Spruce
  • National Poet: Abai Qunanbaiuli
  • National Game: Football
  • National Park: Altyn Emel