Indonesia Facts and History

Discover the wonders of Indonesia!

Flag of Indonesia
National Flag of Indonesia

Interesting facts about Indonesia

  • Official Name: Republic of Indonesia
  • Form of Government: multiparty republic with two legislative houses (Regional Representative Council1 [132]; House of Representatives [560])
  • President: Joko Widodo
  • Prime Minister: Sutan Sjahrir
  • GDP: 1.119 trillion USD (2019)
  • Capital: Jakarta
  • Population: 270.6 million (2019)
  • Official Languages: Indonesian
  • Currency: Indonesian rupiah
  • Timezone: GMT+7
  • Area: 1.905 million km²
  • Dialing Code: +62
  • Major Mountain Ranges: Puncak Trikora,Gunung Kerinci,Gunung Rinjani,Mount Semeru
  • Major Rivers: Kapuas,Sepik,Fly,Mahakam
  • Continent: Asia
  • Border Countries: Indonesia shares borders with Malaysia on Borneo island, with Papua New Guinea on Papua island, and with East Timor on Timor island. Other neighboring countries include Singapore, the Philippines, Australia, and the union territory of the Andaman and Nicobar Islands in India.

Map of Indonesia

National Symbols of Indonesia

  • National Bird: Garuda
  • National Anthem: “Indonesia Raya”
  • National Animal: Komodo dragon
  • National Flower: Melati putih
  • National Tree: Teak Tectona
  • National Museum: Elephant Museum
  • National Poet: Chairil Anwar
  • National Game: Badminton
  • National Mountain: Puncak Jaya
  • National Park: Komodo