Ethiopia Facts

Discover the wonders of Ethiopia!

Flag of Ethiopia
National Flag of Ethiopia

Interesting facts about Ethiopia

  • Official Name: Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia
  • Form of Government: Federal parliamentary republic
  • GDP: 84.36 billion USD (2018)
  • Capital: Addis Abeba
  • Population: 109.2 million (2018)
  • Official Languages: Amharic
  • Currency: Ethiopian birr
  • Timezone: GMT+3
  • Area: 1.104 million km²
  • Dialing Code: +251
  • Major Mountain Ranges: Ahmar Mountains,Amaro Mountains,Bale,Entoto,Mount Afdem
  • Major Rivers: Zarima,Ataba,Wari,Ferrey,Graliwdo
  • Continent: Africa
  • Border Countries: Ethiopia is bounded by Eritrea to the north, Djibouti to the northeast, Somalia to the east, Kenya to the south, and South Sudan and Sudan to the west.

Map of Ethiopia

National Symbols of Ethiopia

  • National Bird: Tauraco ruspolii
  • National Flower: Calla Lily
  • National Animal: Abyssinian lion