Cameroon Facts

Discover the wonders of Cameroon!

Flag of Cameroon
National Flag of Cameroon

Interesting facts about Cameroon

  • Official Name: the Republic of Cameroon
  • Form of Government: Dominant-party presidential republic
  • GDP: 38.68 billion USD (2018)
  • Capital: Yaoundé
  • Population: 25.22 million (2018)
  • Official Languages: French, English
  • Currency: Central African CFA franc
  • Timezone: GMT+1
  • Area: 475,442 km²
  • Dialing Code: +237
  • Major Mountain Ranges: Mount Cameroon, Mont Oku,Tchabal Mbabo
  • Major Rivers: Congo,Benue,Logone,Chari
  • Continent: Africa
  • Border Countries: It is bordered by Nigeria to the west and north; Chad to the northeast; the Central African Republic to the east; and Equatorial Guinea, Gabon and the Republic of the Congo to the south. Cameroon’s coastline lies on the Bight of Biafra, part of the Gulf of Guinea and the Atlantic Ocean.

Map of Cameroon

National Symbols of Cameroon

  • National Animal: Lion
  • National Flower: Red Stinkwood
  • National Fruit: Dacryodes edulis