Angola Facts

Discover the wonders of Angola!

National Flag of Angola

Interesting facts about Angola

  • Official Name: The Republic of Angola
  • Form of Government: Unitary presidential republic
  • GDP: 105.8 billion USD (2018)
  • Capital: Luanda
  • Population: 30.81 million (2018)
  • Official Languages: Portuguese
  • Currency: Angolan kwanza
  • Timezone: GMT+1
  • Area: 1.247 million km²
  • Dialing Code: +244
  • Major Mountain Ranges: Moco,Lupangue,Ungungi,Senha
  • Major Rivers: Chiloango,Loge,Dande,Bengo,Cuanza
  • Continent: Africa
  • Border Countries: Angola is bordered by the Atlantic Ocean, the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the north and east, Zambia to the east, and Botswana and Namibia to the south.

Map of Angola

National Symbols of Angola

  • National Bird: Red-crested Turaco
  • National Animal: Sable Antelope
  • National Flower: Welwitschia
  • National Tree: Imbondeiro Tree
  • National Fruit: palm fruit